Check out the photo gallery!

ICS 2019



Welcome to the 16th Interdisciplinary Cerebrovascular Symposium in Iowa City, USA!

The 16th Interdisciplinary Cerebrovascular Symposium (ICS 2019) will continue the rich tradition of bringing together international Ph.D. abnd M.D. experts. Started in 2004 by Prof. Daniel A. Rüfenacht, Prof. Pedro Lylyk, and Dr. Makoto Ohta, the ICS has become a premier meeting to disseminate cutting-edge research at the interface of medicine and engineering.

We are delighted to invite you to Iowa City, United States for another exciting meeting of cerebrovascular researchers from medicine and engineering. This year, our theme is “Biomarkers for Aneurysm Growth and Instability”. The conference program wil include cutting edge researech presentations, vibrant scientific discussions, networking and opportunities for exploring beautiful Iowa City - a proud UNESCO City of Literature.

Conference overview

When Where  What
April 17, 2019 7:30 AM - 5:10 PM Hilton Garden Inn Iowa City  Podium talks including breakfast, lunch and coffee breaks
April 17, 2019 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM Vue RoofTop Restaurant  Dinner
April 18, 2019 7:30 AM - 5:20 PM Hilton Garden Inn Iowa City  Podium talks including breakfast, lunch and coffee breaks
April 18, 2019 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM Iowa Chop House  Dinner
April 19, 2019 7:30 AM - 12:00 PM Hilton Garden Inn Iowa City  Chalk talks

For full program with schedule of talks, click on ‘Program’ tab above

Key dates

December 15, 2018      Abstract submission opens
January 21, 2019      Abstract submission deadline
February 15, 2019      Conference program finalized
April 17-19, 2019      See you in Iowa City!

Speaker highlight

Philippe Bijlenga University of Geneva, Switzerland
Timothy Carroll Universiy of Chicago, USA
Juan Cebral George Mason University, USA
Robert Damiano University of Buffalo, USA
Aaron Dumont Tulkane University, USA
Matthew Gounis University of Massachusetts Worcester, USA
David Hasan University of Iowa, USA
Tomoki Hashimoto Barrow Neurological Institute, UCSF, USA
Daizo Ishii Hiroshima University, Japan
Gabor Janiga University of Magdeburg, Germany
Christoph Karmonik Houston Methodist Hospital, USA
Jim Koeing National Institutes of Health, USA
Eva Leemans Academic Medical Center, Netherlands
Kastubh Limaye University of Iowa, USA
Jia Lu University of Iowa, USA
Duncan Maitland Texas A&M University, USA
Toshinori Matsushige Hiroshima City Asa Citizens Hospital, Japan
Hui Meng SUNY Buffalo, USA
Daichi Nakagawa University of Tokyo, Japan
Vitor-Mendes Pereira University of Toronoto, Canada
Ye Qiao Johns Hopkins Medicine, USA
Suresh M.L. Raghavan University of Iowa, USA
Hamidreza Rajabzadeh-Oghaz University of Buffalo, USA
Vitaliy Rayz Purdue University, USA
Anne Robertson University of Pittsburgh, USA
Daniel Rûfenacht Swiss Neuro Institute, Switzerland
Edgar Samaniego University of Iowa, USA
Maasaki Shojima University of Tokyo, Japan
David Steinman University of Toronto, Canda
Vincent Tutino SUNY Buffalo, USA
Yiannis Ventikos University College London, UK
Maria-Cruz Villa-Uriol University of Sheffield, UK
Paul Watton University of Sheffield, UK
Mario Zanaty University of Iowa, USA


Conference chairs

David Hasan

David Hasan, M.D.,

Professor of Neurosurgery
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA, USA

+1 319 400 9455

Suresh M.L. Raghavan, PhD.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA, USA

+1 319 335 5704


We are grateful to our sponsor!